Unfortunately, accidents are a part of life. If you have been injured in a car accident in the Riverside, California area, it’s important to know your rights so that you can file a personal injury lawsuit with the court. Knowing the facts of personal injury law is essential.
First and foremost, you must know that there are limits on the amount of time you have to file a lawsuit after you have been injured in an accident. This is known as the statute of limitations. In California, the statute of limitations is two years from the date of your injury. If you wait until after that period to file a claim, the court will not hear your case, and you won’t be able to collect any compensation.
A personal injury case occurs when a person has suffered some form of injury in an accident or another incident with another individual who may be legally responsible for it. Personal injury cases are typically heard in civil court, with the proceedings proving that the defendant was at fault for the plaintiff’s injuries.
It is important to note that California is one of the states that has a law known as “shared fault.” Shared fault laws mean that you, the plaintiff, are at least partially responsible for your injury. Also, in shared fault personal injury cases, the state of California follows a rule called “pure comparative negligence.” That means that the amount of compensation you receive following your lawsuit will be reduced to match
the percentage you are found to be at fault for the accident.
In other words, if you are involved in a car accident in which someone rear ended your vehicle, but you were sitting there instead of driving when you should have been, you can be held partly at fault. For example, if you suddenly stopped your car on the road for no reason instead of pulling over to the side when the accident occurred, the court can find you 20 percent responsible. That means that if you were suing for $10,000 in compensation in your personal injury lawsuit, you would only receive 20 percent of that amount, which would be $8,000.
If you are involved in a car accident in the Riverside area and are hurt, visit www.attorneyriversideca.org to speak to a skilled car accident attorney today. Your attorney will be able to help you to recover the greatest amount of compensation for your injuries and damages.